The World in North Macedonia

The International Organization of La Francophonie and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Macedonia organized the fifth annual meeting of the national coordinators for La Francophonie from six CEE countries: Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Moldova and Romania held on 23 and 24 March in Skopje.


On this occasion, the director of the Regional Bureau, Hary Andriamboavonjy, the Secretary of State at the Secretariat for European Affairs, Ana Blazevska as well as the president of the NC network, Ambassador Christian Ter-Stepanian and the representative for La Francophonie from the Ministry of Education and Science, Marija Nikolova delivered their introductory address.

State Secretary Blazevska, in accordance with her Francophile vocation, inter alia, noted the Francophile dedication of our country. In addition, she underlined the need to use the French language by our administration in international relations and institutions, for which OIF’s support is crucial.


As part of this event, a parallel meeting was held at the MFA between representatives of ministries of education in order to consolidate the wording of the Memorandum of Understanding between OIF and countries of the region in the field of education.

The meeting was used to define the Action Regional Plan in context of the needs established at the Antananarivo Summit. Furthermore, after the two-year mandate of Armenian PR and NC Christian Ter-Stepaninan has ended, Macedonia’s PR and NC for La Francophonie, Gabriel Atanasov was elected through consensus in Skopje as the new president of the RESIFECTO network.