30 years of independence – recognition for 30 eminent persons

06 June 2021

This year, the Republic of North Macedonia celebrates the 30th anniversary since declaring independence in 1991. On that occasion, Foreign Minister Bujar Osmani decided to pay recognition to 30 foreign persons, EU and NATO high officials, statesmen, diplomats and experts on our country and the region. With this act we give a symbolic recognition of the mark left in the consolidation of our independence, support and assistance in completing the Euro-Atlantic perspective, as well as the strengthening of the multiethnic, multicultural and multiconfessional cohesion of our country and society.

Thirty years later, the Republic of North Macedonia has a predictable future as a member-state of the key western mechanisms of integration, as well as a predictable political and economic stability. The greatest credit for that goes, of course, to our own citizens, but the support from friends around the world is also very important to accomplish these ambitions.

Evaluating their special contribution through the prism of many events and processes that mark important moments in our recent past, development and active involvement as modern and prosperous member of the international community, as well as extraordinary commitment to overcome the obstacles to the important goals set for our foreign policy, and therefore the overall social and economic development, we express our recognition for their contribution to the development of the country to the following people:

ROBERT BADINTER, President of the Arbitration Commission of the Peace Conference on Yugoslavia

LAWRENCE BUTLER, US Ambassador (2002-2005)

ERHARD BUSEK, Special Coordinator of the Stability Pact for Southeastern Europe (2002-2008)

MAX VAN DER STOEL, High Commissioner on National Minorities of the OSCE (1993-2001), posthumously

SIR BARNEY WHITE-SPUNNER, British General and NATO Commander in our country (2001) and member of the Ohrid Group

ZHELYU ZHELEV, President of the Republic of Bulgaria (1990-1997) – posthumously

KLAUS KINKEL, Foreign Minister of the Federal Republic of Germany (1992-1998) – posthumously

NIKOS KOTZIAS, Foreign Minister of the Hellenic Republic (2015-2018)

ALAIN LE ROY, EU Special Representative (2001-2002) and member of the Ohrid Group

STEFAN LEHNE, Director of the Directorate for the Balkans, Eastern Europe, and Central Asia at the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union (2002-2008)

ANNA LINDH, Foreign Minister of Sweden and Chairman of the Council of the EU (2001) – posthumously

TADEUSZ MAZOWIECKI, Special Rapporteur of the UN Human Rights Committee – posthumously

JOHN MCCAIN, American Senator – posthumously

MATTHEW NIMETZ, Personal Envoy of the UN Secretary General (1999-2019)

LORD PATTEN, European Commissioner for Foreign Affairs (1999-2004)

JAMES PARDEW, EU Representative in our country (2001) – posthumously

REINHARDPRIEBE, Director for the Western Balkans at the EU Secretariat-General for External Relations (2001-2004) and Enlargement (2005-2006)

ROMANO PRODI, Former Prime Minister of Italy and President of the European Commission (1999-2004)

CONDOLEEZZA RICE, US Secretary of State (2005-2009)

OLLI REHN, EU Commissioner for Enlargement (2004-2010)

Lord ROBERTSON, NATO Secretary General (1999-2004) and Chairman of the Ohrid Group

DANIEL SERWER, University Professor

DAVID SLINN, former British Diplomat

JAVIER SOLANA, EU High Representative for Common Foreign and Security Policy (1999-2009) and member of the Ohrid Group

JEAN FRANCOIS TERRAL, Ambassador of the French Republic (2000-2003)

PETER FEITH, Personal Representative of NATO Secretary-General (2001)

ERWAN FOUÉRÉ, EU Special Representative and Head of the European Commission Delegation (2005-2011)

CHRISTOPHER HILL, US Ambassador (1996-1999)

RICHARD HOLBROOKE, US Assistant Secretary of State for European and Canadian Affairs (1994-1996) – posthumously

HIKMET ÇETIN, Foreign Minister of the Republic of Turkey (1991-1994)

HANS LOTHARSTEPPAN, historian and Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany (1993-1997), posthumously